Help & Activities – Useful Links

May 3rd, 2020

 

To all our members and friends, we just want to let you know that whilst facing the challenges that lay ahead over the coming months, we are stronger by being a community. As such, we will be staying in touch (so keep checking our website).

As a first step, we are publishing a list of weblinks to organisations that are there to help, as well as a few suggestions for entertainment and education. But please note that being listed does not imply that an organisation is recommended or endorsed by Belsize Square.

If, as a member of Belsize Square Synagogue, you are using a service  that could be useful to others or you would like to volunteer to provide a useful service, even from the end of a phone or via the internet to our community please send an email to office@synagogue.org.uk.

The synagogue might be closed but the Ministers, Officers and Staff are there for you as we know you are for your community.

Local Authorities

If you live in London, most local councils are providing advice and information through their websites:

Barnet – www.barnet.gov.uk/coronavirus-covid-19-latest-information-and-advice

Brent – www.brent.gov.uk/coronavirus

Camden – www.camden.gov.uk/coronavirus-covid-19

Hackney – https://hackney.gov.uk/coronavirus

Haringey – www.haringey.gov.uk/news-and-events/haringey-coronavirus-covid-19-updates

Islington – www.islington.gov.uk/social-care-and-health/coronavirus-in-the-uk-how-to-reduce-your-risk

Westminster – www.westminster.gov.uk/coronavirus

Charities

Age Concern – www.ageuk.org.uk/information-advice/coronavirus/

Red Cross – www.redcross.org.uk/about-us/news-and-media/media-centre/press-releases/coronavirus—latest-updates-from-british-red-cross

Carers Trust – carers.org/guidance-coronavirus

RSPCA – www.rspca.org.uk/coronavirus

Childlinewww.childline.org.uk/info-advice/your-feelings/anxiety-stress-panic/worries-about-the-world/coronavirus/

Mutual Aid – https://covidmutualaid.org/ – local groups offering support in your area.

Paperweight – www.paperweight.org.uk – offering support on advice on welfare and benefits.

Food

Kosher Food Deliveries – www.paperweight.org.uk/covid-19/kosher-food-delivery/

Daniel’s Bakery – www.danielsbakery.co.uk/

Computer Support

Zoom Advice – click here for advice on how to use Zoom – provided by our member Anthony Hellman

Coffee & Computers – www.coffeecomputers.org – helping newcomers use computers, ta blets and smartphones

Entertainment & Adult Education

JW3 – an extensive collection of past lectures and events online as well as children’s programmes – https://jewishonline.jw3.org.uk/

Metropolitan Opera – streaming a different production every day of the week free – metopera.org

Amazon Audible – stories.audible.com/start-listen

Google Arts & Culture – using its Street View platform to give you online access to hundreds of museums and galleries around the world – artsandculture.google.com

Open Culture – free movies, books & courses – www.openculture.com

Israeli Movie Night – www.seret-international.org

UK Jewish Film – https://ukjewishfilm.org/ondemand/

Hampstead Theatre – free to watch plays – www.hampsteadtheatre.com/

National Theatre – new productions each Thursday – ntlive.nationaltheatre.org.uk/

Berlin Philharmoniker – a wonderful list of past concerts on their digital platform for free – www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/home

English National Ballet – daily dance classes to help you keep fit – www.ballet.org.uk

Royal Opera House – the Royal Opera is offering free online streaming of past opera and ballet performances and much more – www.roh.org.uk

Europeana – opens the door to museums,art galleries,libraries and theatres – www.europeana.eu/en

Opera Vision – Opera streaming from all over – https://operavision.eu/en

London Symphony Orchestra –  Each Sunday and Thursday the LSO will be streaming archive concerts on Youtube – https://lso.co.uk/whats-on/2019-20-season/alwaysplaying.html

Royal Albert Hall – free concerts from the Royal Albert Hall – www.royalalberthall.com/

Museum Tours – Virtual tours of 1200 museums around the world – https://artsandculture.google.com/

Classic FM – links to all classical music and opera being streamed from all over the world – www.classicfm.com/music-news/coronavirus/

Art Galleries – A wealth of Art is available to view and to study online:The Courtauld courtauld.ac.uk; Royal Academy royalacademy.org.uk; British Museum Britishmuseum.org/collection

Religion

Leo Baeck College – https://lbc.ac.uk/leo-baeck-college-online/

Children’s Education

National Geographic for Kids – www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Jewish Interactive – www.jewishinteractive.org/kids-learning-at-home/

B’nei Brith Youth Organisation – azabbg.bbyo.org/on-demand/home

P.E. with Joe –  new lessons every weekday morning –  www.youtube.com/channel/UCAxW1XT0iEJo0TYlRfn6rYQ